Rainy day cards

I’ve had so much fun playing with Tim Holtz Distress Inks lately! The following cards were created using a craft sheet and water. So first pick your colors and smoosh them onto the craft sheet (or something that resists water) then spray with water to activate. Place your paper (I use watercolor 90lb the most) and wiggle it gently – lift up.

The first layer is usually a nice blend of the colors – I then dry the paper with my heat gun. From there, look for areas that need some contrast or color and tap that section down on to some beaded ink. Dry with heat gun. At this point you might want to smoosh a bit more color and spray – just repeat the process until you are happy with your results!

Once my pieces were in a happy place, I looked for elements that resembled objects. Two pieces reminded me of trees so I stamped tree images in those areas and blended them out. One reminded me of water – so I felt the man with umbrella would work … just have fun with it!

Card 1  Card 2  Card 3

My sewing assistant says get inky!!

My sewing assistant says get inky!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashie
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 17:53:00

    Those are beautiful! i love the orange and pink together and the purple and green together. Very nicely done!

    Reply

  2. mbrein23
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 23:19:27

    Thank you! The orange and pink is my favorite 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment