2012 Detox from Whole Living: Day 1

Ok, so today is my first day of the 28 day detox found at http://www.wholeliving.com/. I’ve been putting it off mainly because I am a coffee drinker ….. gotta have my coffee ….. well, it’s almost 5pm and am just now starting to get the dreaded headache from lack of caffeine!

Started off my morning with a cup of hot water with just a squirt of lemon juice. Even though it wasn’t my usual cup of coffee, the warmth was still familiar and that helped. I usually don’t eat breakfast so the morning wasn’t so hard for me food wise. I had my “breakfast” around 9am – the grapefruit/carrot/ginger juice. The drink wasn’t too bad – a little bitter (I think next time I will get Ruby Red instead of White grapefruit). I felt a bit sick for about 5 minutes but then my stomach settled down.

I started to get hungry about 12 and made the dried fruit/nuts with sesame seeds snack  – Yummy!!!! I had two of them, just enough to get me through the preparation of my lunch: Spiced Butternut Squash and Apple soup.  The soup had lots of preparation time so next time I will have that all ready before I’m hungry and getting grumpy!!! I have never used turmeric, cardamom or cloves in food before – the soup was not only filling but really flavorful! So far, so good ….

So without my caffeine fix this morning, I’ve been a bit tired but that’s about it. I still have dinner to eat – so I’m definitely not “starving” on this detox! So the worst is behind me – my head hurts in waves but I just drink some water and it calms down!

I decided to do this detox to see if it will help me with anxiety, depression and constant fatigue! I’ll try to keep posting everyday. Tonight will be interesting since I have a very hard time getting to sleep. This detox is suppose to help with that too!

So I’m off to prepare my dinner – Roasted Red Peppers, Cauliflower and Almonds ….

Leave a Reply

