Crazy month of November

This November was by far the craziest I’ve had in a long time. My kids are both community cast members for Ballet Northwest’s Nutcracker this year and have had their own rehearsals (different days) up until now. So in between driving them back and forth to Olympia (which if you know me at all – this is a personal challenge – thanks to Allison, Ferol and Roger), I was getting my Festival Tree ready for Providence Hospital’s Annual Festival of Trees, creating four new Mice costumes for the Nutcracker (yep, I tend to dive right in when involved with a group), getting the kids’ new school schedule started and attempting to keep up my daily word quota for NaNoWriMo. *Phew*

There were days when I just wanted to let everything slide. But my kids and their education (which includes ballet) — very important to me! But wait – I can’t forget myself here – my writing is important to me as well! Plus keeping all my commitments – I couldn’t NOT do my best. I almost gave up with my writing – after all, it was the last thing on my list of priorities and the only one that would be left disappointed would be myself if I didn’t finish. So I dug deep – I squashed the little critics on my shoulder – really squashed them into non-existance!!! and I typed early mornings, late nights and kept going until I was done! My back aches, my shoulders hurt and my hands are hurting but I managed to finish something very important to myself.

So what’s my point amid all this rambling? Don’t give up on your own personal dreams – even when they seem impossible to achieve – even when you are left with an aching body – even when all the other priorities in your life are clamoring for your attention – don’t give up – it can be done!

My NaNoWriMo Link

Leave a Reply

