Fascination with Fascinators!

Funny how research for costuming, meeting an avid fan of fascinators AND a royal wedding seemed to occur all at once! Up until about a month ago – no idea what a fascinator was – had to google it for the show “Oklahoma!”. Instant love affair with these little pieces of pure joy!

In my dollmaking, I already work in small scale and my latest creation, The Mad Hattress, has her own fun little hat! So it seems to be coming full circle and I have created two of my own fascinators! Believe me, this is JUST the beginning!!! I haven’t had this much inspiration bubbling inside my head for years! In fact, the other day I was desperate to find my sketchbook (well, at least one of the many I have just in case inspiration strikes) … couldn’t find it amongst the chaos of my kitchen turned sewing room!  So instead of sketching – I created straight from my brain to my fascinator fabric!

Here are the first two of what I hope to be many, many more mad creations!!!

  

Leave a Reply

