A Paper Love Affair

workspace_pendants   As with many artists, I tend to hold on to lovely pieces of paper, fabrics, notions, embellishments … and just hold on … not wanting to cut into that wonderful print or cut up the beautiful piece of handmade paper! So I am pushing beyond my habits and creating new beautiful items to cherish! 

   These two pendants come from my scrapbooking stash! The idea of paper jewelry has been floating around in my mind for some time now and finally I gave in and cut up my paper! The paper is a beautiful piece of Japanese inspired rice paper! I wasn’t sure how the colors would hold under my glaze once it was “wet”.

  A wonderful surprise came from the undertones of green and blue pulled out from the midlayer! I framed the paper with an embellishment that I then mounted to felt. Once dried, I beaded around the frame to complement the picture. The pelline ball chain completes the “scrapbooking stash” look! 

I’m very happy with how they turned out! Now I’m off to search for more buried treasures I can convert into jewelry! -Melinda

 

 dewdrop_pendant

bluegreenpendant

 dewdroppendant_cu

cu_bluegreenpendant

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Breckel
    Jun 17, 2009 @ 13:44:18

    Hi Melinda
    Just wanted to let you know I have ordered some frames for your jewerly and am hoping they will be in this week. I have only seen them in a catalog, so I will call you when I have them.
    Everyone is really excited about the class and I have 9 people wanting to do it!
    later
    Cindy
    Cindy’s Simple Stuff

    Reply

Leave a Reply

