Beaded Doll Project – Lady of the Water

My current project is a beaded cloth doll inspired by a rock star in the doll world (along with some rockettes): Patti Culea, Anne Hesse and Laura McCabe. Her most recent book out is “Creative Cloth Doll Beading” and this doll is based off the mermaid pattern. Several things are happening with my Lady. She is a cloth doll with several layers of paint on her torso and head (and arms which are not in the photos). I have one more layer of paint to apply that has a pearlescent color to it.

Originally I had all the pieces in the “proper” places but strayed from there …. I moved fins to her head – I wanted a more sculpted look to her hair and I lengthened her tail for more flexibility in movement. I am currently beading her torso and finishing up her scales. These photos are my “work in progress” on her creation. Thanks to Anne for the email this morning and motivating me to get these photos in place! 😉

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fran
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 12:57:14

    Love what you are doing with the Mermaid. Can’t wait to see her finished.
    Your daughter’s cards are fantastic. I enjoyed looking through your blog. Great studio you have.

    Reply

  2. mbrein23
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 13:54:58

    Thanks Fran! I’ll post more pics as I get her put together! 😉

    Reply

  3. Kat Lees
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 12:11:59

    Very nice site, very well done, love your mermaid and jewelry…….good works of art. Kat Lees

    Reply

  4. mbrein23
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 17:31:11

    Thanks Kat! I love your site …. I checked it out this morning!!! -Melinda

    Reply

  5. rosieroyalty
    May 01, 2009 @ 09:24:14

    she is turning out so cool!! Great job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

