New toys (uh, I mean tools)

Friday was my monthly gathering with stamping friends! It’s also my “shopping” day at my favorite local stamp store – Cindy’s Simple Stuff!!! As much as I love Stampin’ Up! – a girl can never have enough tools and product – well, that’s my story anyway – and I’m stickin’ to it! I read up on the Scor Pal and Scor It ….. finally decided to get the Scor It Mini …..In my excitement I rushed into using it …. figured out I was holding the scoring tool upside down! Now I’m just havin’ a blast scoring everything within my reach (and that’s a LOT right now cuz my studio is a MESS … still) I also picked up some new CB embossing folders – YEAH!!! And some kids crafting foam (this stuff is soooo fun to cut with the CB – CuttleBug) …And I have fiiiinnnnallly sent in an order for SU! to get my free SAB!!!! I’ve tried to be sooooo good as a demonstrator and not buy every wonderful stamp set to add to my towering wall of already wonderful SU! stamp sets!!! So I’m excited ….After all this talk …. I should post a picture of something created ….  

inchie-quilt-card.jpg
     inchie-quilt-cu.jpg
My “inchie” quilt card is a mesh of my new toys in action:I first scored my base card (chocolate chip SU! cs) to create a grid 1 1/8″ by 1 1/8″. To add some interest, I swiped Very Vanilla Craft Ink across the grid and paper. In order to fill my “inchies”, I punched out 1″ squares from my paper scraps and randomly placed them. To further create the quilted look, I used my sewing machine set to zig zag and sewed all the “seams” created by my Scor-It Mini. I then swiped everything with SU! River Rock Ink to age my quilt.My stamped images are from SU! retired set “Little Somethings” & “Collage Alphabet” – the perfect size for this card! I needed some dimension so I used my CB and some craft foam to cut the blue swirls. The template is Sizzix Scribbles Swirls. Overall, I am happy with how it turned out ….. my take on “inchies” …. Melinda
Leave a Reply

