Cherish Card

cherish-card-08.jpgYesterday I stepped out in my shop to put some things away and next thing I knew – I’d made a card! Wish it were that easy everyday! All I meant to do was play with some drywall tape I found in the garage – it is a neon yellow and I wanted to see if I could ink it a different color! Well, I started daubing on it but used the wrong the type of ink so it didn’t stick. However, when I peeled it away I was happy to see a grid pattern. Ok so hence the card inspiration! Drywall tape!

I also had some white silk flowers I had torn apart and inked up! The result was quick and easy! I used SU! Chocolate Chip CS as base with Tempting Turq. for the edge layer. My main layer started out as Whisper White as can be seen with the grid pattern! Other things used: Baroque Motifs: cherish, rhinestone brad, silk flowers, drywall tape, sheer polka dot ribbon, daubers, paper piercing tool and dimensionals.

cherish-cardd-003-copy.jpg

To create the grid: smooth down the drywall tape onto white paper – make sure it’s really stuck down to get clean edges. Using the sponge dauber with Chocolate Chip Ink, pounce on the left edge of the paper to get the color down around the tape then gently swirl to blend it. Take the next color, Tempting Turq. with a dauber and starting at an overlap with the Chocolate Chip – pounce and swirl. Last color with dauber, Blue Bayou – start again with an overlap but as you get closer to the edge – leave some white showing. Once done just peel the tape up and cut to size!

The flowers started out white and I just sponged them with Tempting Turq. and Blue Bayou, layered and topped off with a rhinestone brad!

cherish-cardd-001-copy.jpg

Now I’m off to try my stazon ink with the mesh! Happy Creating! -Melinda

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Your husband
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 23:48:26

    For the record; That was my drywall tape and I was asked to get some. I had to sacrifice my own supplies for the sake of art.

    P.S. Love you.

    Reply

  2. mbrein23
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 23:54:17

    Yes, that’s right – sacrifices are important when it comes to stamping – baby!!!! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

