Beaded Necklace

monarchmosiacnecklace.jpg

This necklace was quite some work. There were several stages involved in getting to the final piece. The main section is bead embroidery on paper and then backed with felt. I used a variety of beads to fill in the sections of this butterfly. Size 8 and size 10 seed beads, bugle beads, fire-polished czech beads to name a few. My chain is a combination of herringbone and brick stitch. I like the herringbone because I can put things between the stitches as in my transition from the main piece to the necklace. My finishing touch was the tassel fringe at the base. Although I would love to claim this beautiful butterfly completely as my own – it is inspired by a pattern found in the most wonderful beading book: “Classic Beadweaving: New Needle Techniques & Original Designs” by Ann Benson. She has wonderful ideas and patterns throughout the book! So now you know what I’ve been up to the last few days! This necklace is a gift for my mother on her birthday! – Melinda

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 09:50:06

    OH MY GOODNESS! I can’t believe that there are no comments on here for this. WOW. THis must have taken forever. It is so beautiful! There is no way that I would have the patience for this!! Thanks for posting it!

    Reply

  2. mbrein23
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 10:56:36

    Thanks Becky!
    I wanted to make something beautiful for my mom on her birthday! She loved it!!!

    Reply

  3. corinne
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 10:31:49

    OMG! you made this yourself!!! it is dropdead gorgeous!

    corinnexxx

    Reply

  4. mbrein23
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 10:47:03

    Thanks Corinne!!! Now I just need to improve my photography skills to really showcase it 😉

    Reply

  5. Andree Castoldi
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 11:16:15

    Absolutely gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

