Artwork with reinkers

Hello!

I was inspired to play with my SU! reinkers after discovering a wonderful blog by Tim Holtz. His tutorial covers using alcohol ink refills but I don’t have any (yet) and needed to improvise! Check out where I got my inspiration at Tim Holtz’s Day 5 Tutorial

I used my glossy cardstock, water mister and reinkers in ballet blue, vintage violet, summer sun and buckaroo blue. This was so fun and very easy to create! I first sprayed my glossy paper with water – a fine mist and then dropped my blues first – if they didn’t spread right away, I sprayed a bit of water to make them move! Then I blotted them with a paper towel and dried with my heat gun. I sprayed again and dropped my violet …. sprayed to spread, blotted with towel, dried with heat gun. My last color was summer sun doing the same process. You want the colors to be dry in between or you will end up with mixed colors such as green! That’s it and my final touch was a goldfish stamped on one panel.

Thanks so much to Tim Holtz for having such an awesome series on his blog!! Everyone needs to check it out!!! Happy Creating! -Melinda

I created four panels and then mounted them on black cs. The entire piece reminds me of being underwater!
reinker-experiment-2.jpg

Just another angle:
reinker-experiment-4.jpg

This is a close up of the panel with my goldfish:
reinker-experiment.jpg

Leave a Reply

