Healing Journal

I love creating handmade books, journals and mini albums! I think my favorite by far was a handmade blank journal I created for my mom. I bound watercolor pages with bamboo sticks (the ones you use for skewers) – it was really cool – and very flexible! I need to borrow it and take a picture to post! Anyways, to the point here… I created a healing journal for myself when I needed to take a step back and reassess my life. I had been working fulltime (plus) for Boeing and had just been laid off (for a second time). I felt pressure to fill the void with more work. But I found that I maybe didn’t want or desire that type of work (industrial engineering – very technical, geeky work). I wanted to flourish as an artist, musician … fulfill dreams from my childhood! So this little journal was a promise to myself! Just the motions of creating it was enough to open forgotten doors and take chances I never had the nerve to take before! So I took the photos of myself, created the covers, accordian fold pages and found inspirational quotes to match the photos. I embellished it with personal items (totems) throughout … so if you find yourself in need of healing – make yourself a personal visual journal – I’d love to see what you come up with! -Melinda

frontpagejournal.jpg

journal_inside_1.jpg

journal_inside_3.jpg

journal_inside_2.jpg

fullviewjournal.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hemidemisemiquaver
    Dec 02, 2007 @ 13:36:16

    UM…HELLOOO!!!! GORGEOUS!!! That is all I have to say! You ARE a diva girl!

    Reply

  2. mbrein23
    Dec 02, 2007 @ 18:16:04

    Woo Hoo – thank you for that 😉 -Melinda

    Reply

  3. mj albright
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 00:39:50

    This is so stunning. You’re very beautiful as well. Great photography work I must say. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  4. mbrein23
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 02:24:44

    Thank you so much Mary Jo – you are so kind! 😉 -Melinda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

