Great Gift Ideas

I originally saw this candle in my SU! demo. magazine. I’ll have to look it up to give the originator credit! I made several of these for my hostesses at workshops – they were thrilled!!! Very simple to make and fun!

candle_blog1.jpg

Depending upon the candle, cut a strip of CS to cover the middle and circumference. I roughed up my edges with my distressor tool. I used the following SU! products:

Stamp Sets: Looks Like Spring, Polka Dots & Paisley (background on strip), retired Small Script
Inks: Soft Sky, Summer Sun
Ribbon: Whisper White Grosgrain
Hodgepodge Hardware: Antique Brass
Rhinestone Brads: Ice
Punch: Spring Flower Bouquet

Other Products:
Stickles Glitter: Crystal

I used Sticky Strip to adhere my main strip to the candle. All the brads were pushed into the wax of the candle and my oval frame was gently bent to fit the curve of the candle! This is a quick, fun gift that makes a big impact!

This next one is fun to try: the cd case

embossed_tin_blog1.jpg

I used a brass flower stencil (can’t remember where I got it – it’s been a few years now) directly on the lid and then sanded across the top to remove the sheen. I pierced throught the lid and placed brads as flower centers. The inside contained a little album (I don’t have this anymore or I would show you pics) The bow is linen tape and a Hodgepodge hardware piece. Very simple!

My last thing just came from my stamp club today!!!!! I don’t have any pics but that shouldn’t stop any of you creative souls out there! The artist that created the one I drooled over is a local gal – Laurie – Centralia, WA 🙂 Take cds and use your Bind-it-All to punch holes onto one side (you’re creating a book) – bind them together with the binding wires and there you go! You are ready to decorate your cd album with papers, embellishments, … I post one as soon as I can make it!!!!!

Happy Creating! -Melinda

Leave a Reply

